Masters of Photography Reflection

Ansel Adams:

Ansel Adams, I chose him because I love his photography and work. I love the landscape photos that he takes and how he edits them. I also love how they are in black and white. One of my favorite pictures from Ansel Adams is the Oak Tree Snowstorm. I also love that he takes most of his pictures at Yosemite National Park. I feel like that’s such a great place to take pictures at. Especially since he does a lot of landscape photography. I love the snowstorm photo because I love the snow and I love how it covers the tree. I also love how white it is even though it is in black and white, I really like how he edited it to make it even more white and make it stand out a lot. I also really like his mountain pictures. I love how he edits the mountains and makes them stand out. He makes them stand out from everything else. Some facts about Ansel Adams is that he almost pursued a career as a concert pianist. He became famous for his photo of a granite summit. Ansel Adams was also a technical genius, he wrote 10 technical manuals on photography. His specialized knowledge and innovation helped form the style of photography he became famous for today. Did you know, one of his photographs has actually been to outer space. Adams was asked to create photo murals of national parks and monuments to decorate the halls of the United States Department of Interior. They believed the photo captured the landscape so well that it would be ideal for showing extraterrestrial life what Earth’s environment was like. Ansel Adams was also presented with the medal of freedom in 1980. Throughout Adams career, he always developed and exposed his photos himself in his own makeshift darkroom. When he passed away of a heart attack in 1984 at the age of 82, he left behind a 40,000-plus photo archive, many of which were never printed because he simply didn’t have the time. Curators discovered thousands of negatives tucked inside shoe boxes, but they weren’t all black and white landscape photos-some were in color, and there were even some portraits. Adams often agreed to commercial work in order to subsidize his more creative pursuits, trying to strike a balance between paying bills and garnering satisfaction from his environmental awareness ambitions. In 1969, the Hill Brothers Coffee Company licensed Winter Morning, Yosemite Valley for their 3-pound coffee tins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>